If you’re wondering how to get a real estate license in Georgia, you came to the right place. Our complete guide covers pre-license requirements, costs, and things to consider. Read on to learn all you need to know.
How to Get a Real Estate License in Georgia
If you’re considering starting a real estate career in Georgia, you’re in good company. The state has the 3rd highest number of real estate agents in the United States with more than 10,400 active, licensed agents doing business.
Real estate agents in Georgia make an average of $50,450 per year. Most states have the same general real estate licensing process, but some have additional or relaxed requirements on certain steps.
To get a real estate license in Georgia, there are a few state-specific requirements and criteria you’ll have to meet. It’s a challenging but rewarding process that is essential to start your career in real estate.
We will show you in manageable steps how to get a real estate license in Georgia, how much it will cost in total, and how long the process takes from start to finish.
Before you start working toward getting your license, make sure you meet the basic education requirements and licensing eligibility criteria established by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
Step 1: Licensing Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible to begin the process of getting a real estate license in Georgia, you must:
Examples: Driver’s license, passport, military ID, Permanent Resident Card, Alien Registration Receipt Card, Certificate of Citizenship, or Certificate of Naturalization
Step 2: Review the Education Requirements
To become a licensed real estate agent in Georgia, you have 3 different choices to pick from:
- Complete a Salesperson Prelicense Course (75 hours)
- Complete 10 quarter hours OR 6 semester hours of coursework related to real estate from a United States or Canadian accredited university, college, or law school. Coursework can be in real estate, real property, agency or contract law. You’ll submit your official transcript to the testing agency so they can approve it.
- Show proof from the proper real estate regulatory agency that you’ve taken 75 hours of prelicense coursework in another state (or Canadian province).
Prelicensing courses can be taken in a classroom or online. The way you take the course is up to you. Online courses are typically open for a set period of time, allowing you to complete the course at your own pace.
Classroom courses may be beneficial because you’ll meet other prospective agents and have the ability to directly interact with your classmates and teacher.
Tip: Real Estate Express offers flexible courses for which you set your own pace. Click now to learn more.
Step 3: Register for Prelicense Courses
If you’re taking the 75-hour Salesperson Prelicense class, be absolutely sure you select one that is approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC). If you take a course from a school or institution that isn’t approved by the GREC, your efforts and expenses will have been wasted.
You can check the GREC website for a full list of approved schools and to start researching the costs, reviews, and amenities or support offerings each school has.
Some schools offer unlimited practice exams and retake options, so keep those in mind as you make your decision. Look for a course called Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License course, or search “Georgia Real Estate Salesperson pre-license course” online.
Step 4: Take Your Class and Pass
Whether you decide to take your class online or in a classroom, make sure you’re prepared to treat it like a college course. There are 75 credit hours to earn, but the amount of time it will take to complete the course varies, especially if you’re taking it online.
If you treat it like a full-time job and complete about 40 hours each week, you can finish the course in about 2 weeks. At the end of the course, you’ll take an exam to show that you successfully learned the basics and are ready to get your real estate license in Georgia.
If you pass the exam, the school will present you with a certificate of completion. It will also send a notification of your passing to PSI, which is responsible for administering the real estate exams in Georgia.
You’ll need that, along with a few other requirements and documents, to actually get your Georgia real estate license.
Step 5: Get your CGIC Report
It’s not essential to get this right away, but you’ll need a Georgia Crime Information Center (CGIC) Report from your local sheriff’s office or police department within 60 days of completing your license exam.
It’s a certified criminal history document that shows any past arrests, sentences, etc. that you might have.
Now is a good time to start thinking of which broker you’d like to sponsor you once you get your real estate license. Consider any popular brokers in your area and independent brokers you might know.
Tip: If you’re unsure whether or not something from your past will affect your eligibility, reach out to the the GREC using the contact information in the next step.
Step 6: Prepare for the State Real Estate Exam
The pre-license course you completed and passed was a big part of your preparation and study for the state exam, but it doesn’t hurt to look for exam prep study guides and practice exams that can give you the best chance of passing the state real estate exam.
As you prepare, go ahead and make sure you have the approval you need to take the exam. If you completed the 75-hour coursework, you are approved and eligible to take the exam.
If you used your university coursework or pre-licensing coursework from another state, you will need to get approved manually. Mail or submit your documents (like official transcripts and proof of course completion) to PSI:
PSI Candidate Services
18000 W. 105th St. Olathe, KS 66061-7543
Important: Wait until you receive approval from PSI before you move to the next step.
Step 7: Register for the State Exam
Register for the state real estate exam online on the PSI website (goAMP.com) or by phone (800-345-6559). PSI locations are the ONLY place you can take the exam, and you have to make an appointment to take your exam. Exams are given Monday through Saturday at 9:00 AM and 1:30 PM.
Georgia Real Estate Exam Fee
When you call or go online to schedule your appointment, you’ll have to pay the examination fee (currently $121) to confirm it. Make sure you have your credit card ready when you call or go online.
Note: According to the official Real Estate Examination Program handbook, there are no refunds given for failing to show up at your appointed time, even if you’re late by 15 minutes. You’ll have to reschedule in these cases and pay the exam fee again.
Step 8: Gather Your Documents and Take the Exam
You need to bring the following documents to take your exam:
- 2 forms of ID
- 1) Government issued identification, like a driver’s license, passport, or military ID
- 2) An ID displaying both your signature and name, like a credit card
- Proof of a name change if your registration name is different from your ID
- Your certificate of pre-licensing course completion (just in case)
- The 2-part exam (4 hours) contains 152 multiple choice questions. Both parts are pass/fail.
The Georgia real estate exam is broken down into two parts:
- Real Estate Salesperson National Exam. You must correctly answer at least 75 out of the 100 questions to pass.
- Georgia-specific Salesperson Exam. You must correctly answer at least 39 out of the 52 questions to pass.
You’ll be able to see your score right after you finish the exam. You must pass both parts of the exam to get your Georgia real estate license.
Step 9: Find a Broker Sponsor
In Georgia, newly licensed real estate agents need a licensed broker (from a firm or independent) to “sponsor” them in order to activate the real estate license. They’ll have to sign a sponsor statement to accept responsibility for your mentoring.
The broker becomes responsible for your actions while they sponsor you and that includes mistakes you make as a new real estate agent. You will pay the broker a fee each month or give them part of your commission in exchange for this sponsorship.
Do your research when looking for brokers to sponsor you. It’s important that they be a good fit for you because they’ll help you navigate the beginning of your real estate career.
They’re also responsible for setting the fee or commission you’ll pay for their sponsorship, and some brokers charge more than others. Some also offer additional perks that might make a higher fee worth it.
Step 10: Get Your Georgia Real Estate License
Once you pass your exam, you’re able to obtain your real estate license for the state of Georgia. You’ll need to bring the following documents to the PSI testing location to get your license:
- Photo ID
- Unsigned Certificate of Accuracy with photograph attached
- CGIC Criminal History Report (No more than 60 days old)
- Signed Sponsoring Broker Statement form
- License fee, payable with a credit card, money order, or cashier’s check
- 0-90 days after taking the exam: $170
- 90-365 days after taking the exam: $340
Already Licensed in Florida?
Real estate professionals who already hold an active real estate license in the state of Florida, you might be eligible to transfer it to Georgia and significantly shorten the process.
All you’ll have to do is obtain your GCIC, pass the Georgia exam, and make sure you meet the education and pre-licensing requirements for Georgia (they’re the same as Florida).
Additional Resources for Georgia Real Estate Licensing:
- Georgia Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook
- PSI Candidate Services website
- How to Get Started in Real Estate: 5 Strategies for New Agents
How to Get a Real Estate License in Georgia
If you came to this page asking how to get a real estate license in Georgia, we hope you’re leaving with the best answer.
We should also mention that being a one-stop shop for real estate information, we have plenty of other helpful guides to help advance your career. Make sure to check them out now!